Community Action Teams

  • WHO WE ARE: COMMUNITY ACTION TEAMS

OYU Community Action Teams (CATs) are 23 local coalitions of young leaders and youth-serving organizations that uplift their voices in the political process and mobilize locally to create community improvement projects of their own design. They are each led by a highly respected local anchor organization selected by OYU staff in consultation with local community leaders.

Atlanta OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Partnership for Southern Equity

Staff Coordinator: Jessica Daniels

Join this CAT: jdaniels@psequity.org

Boston OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Teen Empowerment
Staff Coordinator: Jaquell Sneed
Join this CAT: Jaquell@teenempowerment.org

Buffalo OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Open Buffalo
Staff Coordinator: Franchelle C.H. Parker
Join this CAT: timmons@openbuffalo.org

Chicago OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Alternative Schools Network
Coordinator: Coming soon
Join this CAT: Coming soon

Columbus OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Think Make Live Youth
Coordinator: Terry Green
Join this CAT: mrgreen@thinkmakelive.org

Gainesville OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Project YouthBuild
Coordinator: Jonathan Leslie
Join this CAT: jleslie@projectyouthbuild.org

Greenville OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Delta Foundation
Coordinator: Ashley Richardson
Join this CAT: ajrichardson1986@gmail.com

Montgomery OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Destiny Driven Inc
Coordinator: Crystal Russell
Join this CAT: ron.houston@hrggconsult.com

Milwaukee OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Urban Underground

Coordinator: Sharlen Moore 
Join this CAT: smoore@urbanunderground.org

New Orleans OYU Community Action Team

In Transition

New York City OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Phipps Neighborhoods
Coordinator: Willie Thomas
Join this CAT:  WThomas@phippsny.org

Oakland OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Urban Strategies Council
Coordinator: David Harris 
PHILLY LOGO

Philadelphia OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Rising Sons
Coordinator: Alex Peay
Join this CAT: alpeay@risingsons.org

Phoenix County Community Action Team

Coordinators: Brenda Guerrero, Alfonso Vazquez
Join this CAT: estevan.romero@vosymca.org, tania.lopez@nmphx.com

San Francisco OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Bay Area Community Resources
Coordinator: Ruth Barajas
Join this CAT: rbarajas@bacr.org

Seattle OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: SOAR
Coordinator: Devan Rogers
Join this CAT: devan@soarkc.org
© 2018 Opportunity Youth United